1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Egg Questions-Silkies

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by spencer creek, Dec 12, 2008.

1. spencer creek

spencer creek Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2008
    Hi-
    This is my first post and I am new to Silkies. I apologize if this has already been asked, if so please send me the link.

As, I am trying to learn, please excuse me if this is dumb question.

Question: Is it possible to order "nice quality eggs" from a breeder and let your hen set on them and raise them? I have a hen who has been laying an egg every other day and would of course like to continue setting on them. I am looking to up my stock. I can incubate but was wondering about letting my hen do the work...

Educate me, I have searched for this topic. Thanks.

2. Laskaland

Laskaland ThE gRoOvY cHiCkEn

Aug 2, 2008
    Nebraska
    Quote:First: [​IMG]
    Next, yes, that is completely possible. Silkies are very good sitters, so you might have good results at it!!
    There are good silkie keepers on this board, and I am sure they would be happy to hook you up!!
    GOOD LUCK!
    Christina

3. Shared Acres

Shared Acres Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2008
    Northeast Fla
    When my Silkie went broody she didn't lay any eggs. You said yours is laying one every other day. I would assume then that she isn't broody or ready to really sit on the eggs (all day and night).

4. spencer creek

spencer creek Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2008
    So would I let her keep her eggs and swap them out with ordered eggs when she starts setting?

5. ddeans

ddeans Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2008
    Elkton, MD
    [​IMG]

6. Shared Acres

Shared Acres Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2008
    Northeast Fla