EGG QUESTIONs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by got2bskilled, Feb 14, 2011.

1. got2bskilled

got2bskilled Out Of The Brooder

Mar 27, 2009
    Virginia
    Hey folks~

I am a duck newbie. My 2 Khaki girls have started to lay, yea! So naturally, I decided to make an omlet with them after a a week collecting. When I tried to crack the eggs, the shell was tough and the membrane underneath was like rubber. I got shells in my yolks(lots)... I have soooo many questions about duck eggs. I thought I got the best breed for egg consumption. Please help with advice.

How do I crack the eggs?
    Is there a good way to clean the eggs- my ducks lay poopier eggs than my chickens?
    Will the egg flavor be different if I only feed them layer feed?
    Should I let them out of the pen to free range?
    Will they go back to the pen at night?

Thanks\\ got2bskilled

2. pringle

pringle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2009
    Pepperell,MA
    There eggs are definatly a lot tougher to crack then normal chicken eggs!I usually just crack the egg and if the membrane is really tough take a pairing knife and slit the membrane.As for cleaning the eggs try not cleaning too much because you will wipe away the natural oils in the pores of the egg and it will make it go bad faster but if they are really gross I take a damp paper towel and wipe off any excess poop.The egg flavor will not be different but I tend to notice a richer orange color in my duck yolks if they are given extra cracked corn.Free-ranging has its risks and benefits,they get to run a round and forage to there hearts delight for bugs and grass and they have a great time.But the risks are predators such as hawks,foxes and dogs during the daytime.This is why I usually let them free-range while I am home.As long as they have stayed in there enclosure for over 2 weeks they will know that that is there home.

3. gofasterstripe

gofasterstripe Chillin' With My Peeps