Egg Size

patbhoy

In the Brooder
10 Years
Nov 8, 2009
Hi, I'm new to keeping chickens and will be on here asking all sorts of silly questions, as the old saying goes, if you dont ask you'll never know.

I got myself a coop, run and four Isa Warren chickens, they are all laying well but the eggs are small.
What I would like to know is, will the eggs get larger as the chickens mature or will they only ever lay small eggs.

My chickens are around 20wks old at the moment.

Hi and welcome to BYC!
If the hens have just started laying you can look forward to the eggs getting bigger with time.
Ask all the questions you want, silly or otherwise. That's what makes this a great forum.
smile.png

Quote:
Hi, Thanks for your reply and the welcome.

Ok, next silly question. Should i put the chickens food and water in the coop overnight as i normally keep it in the run thru the day.

I just leave the food in the pen when they coop at night they don't usually eat, and if you lock them in a coop just let them out in the morning to eat, right now the coop is in the pen so they are locked in a secure pen and there is enough food in there until I get out in the morning. when we get their new coop built I will probably put in a feeder and water bowl just because they might not want to stay in the coop during the bad winter right now their coop is small but we are working on a bigger one. but if the coop is just were the roost and lay eggs, and they are out in the pen most of the time I don't think you will have to put food in there coop unless you leave them locked in there for some time like bad weather ect.

Quote:

Ok, next silly question. Should i put the chickens food and water in the coop overnight as i normally keep it in the run thru the day.

My flock free ranges, so they only visit the coop during the day to lay their eggs and to be locked in at night.
I keep food and water in my coop and several other waterers outside.