Egg size

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Ktjay563, Sep 7, 2010.

1. Ktjay563

Ktjay563 New Egg

Aug 19, 2010
    Pennsylvania
    To my surprise yesterday my daughter got the eggs from the nest and one of the eggs is HUGE I mean I cannot even close the egg carton. I am new to all of this so to me this looks funny. My girls are only 20 weeks and I know their eggs started off small, but man I have one that is already laying large eggs normally, but this one is HUGE. Is this normal to get one occassionally that is extra large -- what is the largest chicken egg ever laid?

2. Bill D

Bill D Out Of The Brooder

Apr 22, 2010
    Fayetteville NC
    Mine are just starting to lay and we got a big one this weekend as well. It had 2 yolks in it! I have heard normal.

3. moetrout

moetrout Chillin' With My Peeps

May 5, 2010
    Milan, MI
    My first hen to lay was an ISA Brown. She started out laying some really HUGE eggs and if I had to guess I would say 8 out of the first 10 eggs were double yolks! She has now settled down to single yolk extra jumbo eggs! They do not fit in any egg cartons. Now in contrast to that my second hen to lay is a RIR and her eggs were about half the size of a large store bought egg. She just started and each egg after the first looks just a smidge bigger. I am waiting to see the egg size after it normalizes.

4. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    Yes it's normal. It most likely has 2 yolks in it. New layers give all sorts of strange eggs.

5. Ktjay563

Ktjay563 New Egg

Aug 19, 2010
    Pennsylvania