Egg taste and shelf life

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Freepopcorn, Apr 29, 2008.

1. Freepopcorn

Freepopcorn Out Of The Brooder

Apr 29, 2008
    Jefferson County, TN
    First, I'll introduce myself: My name is Kevin. I am a Police Officer in Jefferson County, TN...and I love chickens ;] After prowling around your website for a week or so just reading other posts, I decided to post one myself.

I attempted to locate the answer for the following questions, but was unable to find anything on the topic. That doesnt mean it isnt there...just means that I wasnt compooter smart enough to find it.

Question 1: What is the shelf life of an egg? Specifically Black Star eggs (if the shelf life is breed specific).

Question 2: Can you taste the difference between a fertile and infertile egg?

I look forward to being a regular on the site. My 26 Black Stars are on the way...and im building my coop after this post ;]

2. cluckychick

cluckychick Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2008
    South of KCMO
    [​IMG]

Up at the top of the page is a search function, just type in a word or phrase and it will pull up all the information you want to know. After finding the information you can subscribe to the post so you can reference the information at a later date if desired (took me awhile to figure that one out, lol)

Question #1 The shelf life varies by who you ask I think. Some people say 30-45 minutes and some have kept them for 2 months.

Question #2 No you cannot tell the difference in taste in fertile vs. non. They are both edible and deeellllliiiiicccciiiiooouuuussss!!!

Enjoy your new chicks [​IMG] Are these your first?

3. Freepopcorn

Freepopcorn Out Of The Brooder

Apr 29, 2008
    Jefferson County, TN
    After a little more indepth search of the site, I found a discussion on shelf life. I will be keeping my eggs on the counter and using the water check for anything over 6weeks old (i highly doubt my eggs will make it that long).