egg temp.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tommijo, Jun 6, 2008.

1. tommijo

tommijo Out Of The Brooder

May 31, 2008
    My incubator air temp is between 99.8 to 100.5 with a fan. and the same probe placed on an egg read 98 is this okay or should the egg read over or just about 99.7. This is day 4 of setting and it is 100 outside. can I move the bator outside open the lid and candle instead of dropping the temp. if done inside. Sorry if I sent this message to the wrong place I'm new at this.

2. Julie08

Julie08 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2008
    Ontario, Canada
    you should wait to candle til day 7 earliest. Don't move the bator just candle quick. A drop in temp for a few minutes to candle won't change the internal temp of the egg, you should be fine.

3. Davaroo

Davaroo Poultry Crank

Feb 4, 2007
    Leesville, SC
    My incubator air temp is between 99.8 to 100.5 with a fan. and the same probe placed on an egg read 98 is this okay or should the egg read over or just about 99.7.

Air temp is NOT egg temp and can be very misleading in a small bator. Normally the air temp will be higher than the egg temp. If you are using a remote probe thermo, good for you! Now find one of those squeezy, water-filled tube toys and put the probe in there. Then, put THAT in the bator. The water filled toy simulates an actual egg and will give a true egg temp reading.
    Heres a link:

http://shilala.homestead.com/weasel.html

Dont pay $12 for one, either. Go to WalMart or the Dollar Store and get one for a buck. If you can't find a squeezy toy, then partly fill a sealable plastic baggie with water and roll it around the probe, secured with rubber bands. That'll do in a pinch.

This is day 4 of setting and it is 100 outside. Can I move the bator outside open the lid and candle instead of dropping the temp. if done inside.

No need for all that. Just open the lid, candle and close it back up. Dont dawdle, mind you, but dont worry about it.