egg topsy (no pics or vid)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tankboss, Oct 19, 2013.

1. tankboss

tankboss Out Of The Brooder

Oct 1, 2013
    Well...I opened all 10 eggs that didn't hatch and it was like prepping for breakfast. There were no baby birds, no veins, or any signs of growth. Does this mean I was shipped infertile eggs?

2. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    I'm not experienced in shipped eggs, but I don't think you were necessarily shipped infertile eggs. Maybe, but it could also be that something happened to the eggs in shipping that damaged them and they never started to develop. Hopefully someone with more experience than I have will chime in.

3. tankboss

Oct 1, 2013
    Thanks. I was pretty disappointed in the hatch ratio but, more than anything, I just want to make sure I'm reimbursed if it's appropriate.

4. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    How many did you start with?

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Fertility is not the only thing that can cause an egg to not develop. When a fertile egg is laid the embryo is alive. If something happens to kill that embryo before it starts incubation, it will be clear. That could be something that happens before the egg is shipped or something during shipping, usually too hot or two cold or maybe shaken but it could be something else. That may or may not have been in the shipper’s control. It might have even been during your control after you received them.

I don’t know how many hatched but go ahead and contact the shipper. They might do something for you and probably have an interest in what happened. But if some hatched, they don’t owe you anything. That’s a risk with shipped eggs.