1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Egg washing

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mama_hen, May 18, 2011.

1. Mama_hen

Mama_hen Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2011
    I am still new with my girls, their just 30 wks. I don't really know what to do with my eggs, wash or no wash? Can they be unrefrigerated for how long? My husband fusses at me for barely cleaning them. I feel so little and useless. I am the one that feeds, waters and cleans their coop and talks to them, yet I still don't know if I am even doing things right. If there is a book please let me know, one that is somewhat step by step. Thanks to anyone that can help.

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    What you'll get on egg washing is a lot of different opinions. I wash mine only if they're poopy. In Europe and other foreign countries they sell eggs off the store shelf, unrefrigerated. Mother Earth News did an extensive study on how long eggs keep and different ways of storing them; it's an interesting read. It's certainly not necessary if you will use them within a week or two, but refrigeration extends their "nice and fresh" life.

There are several books, Storey's Guide to Raising Chickens and Raising Chickens for Dummies, to name two. But the info is on this website, too. You might want to start with the Learning Center (top of page,) the FAQ page, and the stickies at the beginning of the chicken forums.

There are about as many ways of taking care of chickens are there are chicken keepers. If your chickens are healthy and happy, you're probably doing fine!

3. cambriagardener

cambriagardener Chillin' With My Peeps