Eggbound Evil.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Jenufa, Aug 27, 2013.

1. Jenufa

Jenufa Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2013
    Hi,
    I'm jenufa and I'm very new to Backyard Chickens but I'm feeling so miserable

about my darling chooks that I feel I must tell someone who cares.

All 9 of our small flock were, except for one, exbattery hens and though a

sad little bunch when they first came they quickly adjusted to a semi-free range life in our large garden

I say semi-free range because,due to the threat of a resident fox, I have to be in the vicinity to keep an eye

on things. Luckily,I'm a very keen gardener and I find their company immensely relaxing-so much so

that I call my gardening/chook sessions my 'Chook Therapy'..

Our first encounter with the condition 'eggbound' was in March when Starboard began to emit a milky

liquid and began to withdraw from the others. We had no idea what was wrong so took her to our vet, who

seemed as clueless as we were but gave our sad little girl a calcium injection followed by another a couple of

days later. Meanwhile, we were searching the net trying to find clues about treatment and prevention

of the condition. Then about 6 weeks ago Crook (she had a crooked beak) died almost before we had time

to realise anything was wrong and we only knew she had been eggbound because of the milky discharge.

Then just over a week ago Larboard began to exhibit the same symptoms. This time we were better

prepared and as well as calcium injections our little chook had a warm bath and massage for 30minutes

four times a day,

Well,all we seemed to have achieved was to prolong her life by 2-3 days as she died during Sunday night.

They would've been 3-4 years old. We'd had them just over 2 years.

We have since learned that this eggbound evil is considered to be fairly commonplace in exbattery hens

due to the factory production of eggs during the first year or so of their lives.