egglaying ... what should I expect from the hens?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by acw123, Nov 27, 2011.

1. acw123

acw123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2011
    Charlottesville
    Just wondering, as I am new to chickens, what I should expect for the the length of time my hens will lay. I know they start anywhere from -5-8 months of age depending on breed, eggs start small and grow, etc. How many years are they productive layers? My Australorps and Orpingtons are laying every day or every other day at this point. At what point does the egg size stabilize or does it just get a little larger until they just stop. Do they just stop. What is the normal life expectancy of a hen? Just curious...I have Australorps, Orpingtons, Barred Rocks, EE's, and Barnevelders currently and have BLRW, GLW's in the incubator.

2. ChicKat

ChicKat Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Although I heard of a hen living to be 25 years old, and know for certain of a man who had a 12-year old hen, the average lifespan of a hen is far less. A web search returned ranges of average age...such as 5-8 years. The productive years maybe fewer.

I think that most hens slow down considerably laying at around 3-years. Different breeds, different environments etc. different results. (not talking commercial egg raising where the turn-over is about 18-24 months). Hens are also individual within their breeds. Some breeds lay fewer eggs over a longer period of time, some breeds lay more eggs over a shorter period of time. For example an every-day layer may lay 2 years and an every-other-day layer may lay 3 1/2 to 4-years. I think that the end of laying can be either just stop, especially if part of their reproductive tract has gone wrong, or more commonly they will taper off for a short period of time.