Eggs are being Pecked & Eaten?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by rockinP, Oct 24, 2010.

1. rockinP

rockinP New Egg

Aug 3, 2009
    My chickens have been laying eggs all summer & although I'm kinda new to chicken raising I'm puzzled. I had 2 ducks in the coop with them until I noticed my eggs were being eaten shell & all. I found one of my ducks with "egg on his face" literally. LOL So, I decided they didn't need to be in the coop with the chickens any longer & released them to a wonderful life at our local park with a huge duck pond. Thinking I had "FIXED" the egg eating problem we went to collect our lovely eggs today & found eggs broken up in the nestbox. Now my question to you is....is this normal behavior or did the ducks teach them this habit & how do I stop it???

2. rockinP

rockinP New Egg

Aug 3, 2009
    bump

3. Imp

Imp All things share the same breath- Chief Seattle

First off Welcome to BYC.

Egg eating is a tough problem. There are a few things you can do to try and stop it.

Fake(wood, ceramic, golf balls etc) in the nests. The idea is that they will peck at the fake eggs and get no satisfaction.
    Blow out eggs and refill with something like hot horseradish, hot mustard, or liquid soap. Same idea, they won't like the results.
    Keep the nest dim/dark. The idea is if they cannot see the eggs they won't eat them.
    Some people have even put up curtains to darken the nests.
    Collect often so they don't get the chance to eat them.
    There are roll away nest that are slanted so the eggs roll out of the reach of the hens.
    I had success with rearranging the inside of the coop, to shake things up, and using the fake eggs.

Good luck

Imp

4. rockinP

rockinP New Egg

Aug 3, 2009