Eggs arriving today

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by loupan, Dec 12, 2011.

1. loupan

loupan Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2011
    newzealand
    Ok so my polish eggs should arrive today [​IMG] in tact im praying advise please please on the first steps what should i do to give them the best chance my first ever hatch was a disaster got to lockdown but then it all went wrong [​IMG] ,my incubator has been on for the last 24 hours it is sitting at 100f its pretty hot here in newzealand at the mo ,and humidity is at 35% all advise would be great
    many thanks
    nicola [​IMG]

2. ladyfaeden

ladyfaeden Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 7, 2011
    St. Helens, Oregon
    I'm a newbie as well but setting eggs tonight as well and would love to follow along with you. I've set two other times but its been several years so I'm going to need to review how to do this. I've got silkie and sizzle eggs going in tonight and Swedish flower hens going in, in the morning.

3. stephanie1992

stephanie1992 Chillin' With My Peeps

set them in an egg carton big side up and let them sit till tonight, they need to rest for awhile. some may have detached air cells. and it any have poop on them rise them off in water only. i do that an have better hatch rates with shipped eggs. some people say dont wash them. but i found out after washing them i had less blood rings happen

4. GrannysRoost

GrannysRoost Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2011
    Casa Grande
    For sure let them rest. If you are hot now, do you have the bator in a room that does not get much traffic, drafts, etc., more temp consistent? I put mine in a spare bedroom where the temp is more moderate and no one going in there pretty much but me. If your humidity is 35%, I would check with a hygrometer and maybe not add water unless it goes low as is easier to add it! Good luck!

Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  5. rancher hicks

rancher hicks Chicken Obsessed

Feb 28, 2009
    Syracuse, NY