Eggs, Eggs, and More Eggs - WHAT?????

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Navymanswife, Aug 18, 2013.

1. Navymanswife

Navymanswife Out Of The Brooder

Jun 30, 2013
    This is my first time raising chickens and I have been anxiously checking every morning for eggs. I have five hens and one (surprise) roo...

This morning, went out to the pen and a chicken was missing - got scared for a while but found in outside the pen, in the bushes - WITH A DOZEN EGGS! First, very happy - second, confused. [​IMG] [​IMG]

Do I move her and the eggs back into the pen into a nesting box?

Why did she not use the nesting boxes? Is there a trick to getting them to use them?? Clearly she preferred a "pen-break" and nested in the weeds....

How do I know if the eggs are usable?

How long can they stay outside before spoiling?

She could not possibly have laid all these in one night - right?

Are they all hers or do hens "share" on the nesting of eggs?

And those are the questions just off the top of my head....I did the float test on one of them. No float - based on my reading, that's good.

Gosh - I never thought I'd be so excited to see EGGS!!!! But now, I have so many at once and I have no idea when it started!!! Funny little buggers.... [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. McGobs

McGobs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2012
    you could try putting a couple fake eggs in their nestboxes, and that may entice them to lay where they are supposed to. (fake plastic easter eggs, golf balls, light bulb...whatever..they will sit on anything)

I would really doubt all those eggs are the work of one chicken. But...depending on how long they have been laying, it is possible. For the most part, your girls are going to lay an egg every day or every couple of days. Don't believe there is any bird that will lay 12 overnight.