Eggs In Waiting - What's Nature's Way?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Jmurcks, Jan 12, 2010.

1. Jmurcks

Jmurcks Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 30, 2009
    North Alabama
    First off... serious newbie here!
    Ok, so the way I understand it is you can have fertile eggs for as long as 10-12 days and they will not start developing until you put them in the incubator.
    Then they all hatch on the same day...
    What do hens do? I mean, do they lay for several days and then start sitting on them or do they have chicks hatching at different times? How's that work?
    Thanks! Jenn

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

A hen will lay a clutch of eggs over a week or two and then when her hormones tell her that's enough eggs in her nest she'll go broody and start setting on them. All hens do not go broody and some will just keep laying and never get the urge to start incubating them. Depends on the breed.

Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  3. Jmurcks

Oct 30, 2009
    North Alabama
    That is so what I thought but thank you so much for confirming that for me!
    So that is why it is so crucial to own an incubator!?

Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  4. Akane

Akane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 15, 2008