Eggs keep dying before pipping~please help newbie!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rescuechick29, Apr 11, 2012.

1. rescuechick29

rescuechick29 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2011
    milwaukee, WI
    Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to chickens and am embarassed to admit that I am currently ATTEMPTING to hatch my 5th clutch of eggs (1 survivor to date) Here's my current stats:

Using a Brinsea Octagon Eco 20, hand turning
    humidity at 40-50% with a recently calibrated Accurite hygro/therm
    temp steady at 99-100*
    set a dozen silkie eggs on 5-6 and weighed everyone that day

So! After stalking this site for the last few months, but unable to post from my phone, I am now desperate (and able to post) to finally get things right. I (think I have) have learned from researching and doing sickening amounts of eggtopsies that no one has shrink wrapped as MOST never even internally pipped. EVERY egg was viable at lockdown, EVERY time. Admittedly, the first time (before this site:) I opened the bator after lockdown twice, only to add water but no one had pipped. Humidity was 50% for 18, then 60-70% after lockdown. I started doing some research and concluded that they drowned? To make a long story short, 2 pullets that I bought ended up being roo's and I couldnt help but try again. AND again. I've altered the humidity in 10% increments with each set and still had no luck. They are always alive and well at lockdown, and then nothing. I bought the kitchen scale hoping to monitor them more closely. We are at day 5 and many have lost a gram already so I closed the vent to just a crack....