1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Eggs were washed - need to vent...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Griffox, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Griffox

Griffox Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2008
    Harrodsburg, KY
    I bought some eggs last week from a local woman and they have been in the bator for 7 days. I have been hand turning them (washing my hands first).

Yesterday, the seller called me and offered me 40 more eggs for free. When I went to pick them up, she mentioned that she had washed them. I didn't say anything to her b/c I didn't want to be disrespectful - she's been really helpful and I'm new to incubating and the eggs were free. But, out of a bator full of eggs she had due this week, only four of hers hatched.

When I candled today there seem to be quite a few bloodrings (that weren't there on day 5.) The only reason I candled again today is because there were some that looked infertile on day 5 and I wanted to be sure before reporting back to the seller how many were actually viable.

How bad does this hurt my chances of a successful hatch? I am wondering if the bloodrings are from the embryo's getting bacterial infections due to being washed? Does anyone hatch washed eggs?

I just bought an LG (with turner, this time) to accommodate the new eggs, so I'm hoping that with less handling they may have a better chance at success. I'm going to be bummed if, after following the BYC Bible of incubating to a "T", my embryos all die. [​IMG]

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Alot of breeders wash eggs. It is one of those 2 sides of a coin. Some people believe you must and some people are dead set that you must not.

3. lockedhearts

lockedhearts It's All About Chicken Math