Eggtopsy... Help understanding what's going wrong! Yes there are photos and they're pretty clear and

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by eksterhuis, Dec 22, 2012.

1. eksterhuis

eksterhuis Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 7, 2012
    Hello, I am new to opening up my non hatchers... I always see to get about 1/3 die after lockdown. I have decided to investigate.

So these are 3 that are from my latest hatch, a belgian, a faverolles and a polish... all from different, some 2 are shipped eggs and one is from my breeders.

It appears the inner membrane is tight and full of fluid. The yolk is almost absorbed on all of them. Is this too high humidity though out the incubation period? I had it lower for my last hatch and only had 1 out of 30 hatch so I increased it back to 45-55% which is what this hatch was at.

I'm not going to ever get better hatches if I can't understand what is going on!

Please help!

Faverolles egg 1
    [​IMG]

Faverolles egg 1
    [​IMG]
    Faverolles egg 1

[​IMG]

Belgian egg 2
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Polish egg 3
    [​IMG]

Thank you...​

2. ash11

ash11 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 14, 2012
    PA
    I'm new to hatching myself. I don't know what went wrong but hopefully someone else can help you so this doesn't happen again. Good luck with future hatches.

3. eksterhuis

Jan 7, 2012

Thank you :)

My initial thoughts are that the humidity is too high for the first 18 days but when I reduced it (as I tried that for last weeks hatch) only 1 out of 30 hatched they all died much earlier on... weird!

4. namastemama

namastemama Chillin' With My Peeps

I hatch at 30% humidity frost 18 days and 55-60% for lock down, I'm no expert though.

5. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member Project Manager

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop