1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Eglu cube question about run

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by uc4tuna, Mar 19, 2012.

1. uc4tuna

uc4tuna Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2012
    Daly City, Ca
    Hi everyone! Complete newbie here, hoping for some advice.

I just bought a used eglu cube with a 3-meter run. I don't have any chickens yet, they're next on the list. =) My question is, is the 9' run big enough for 3-4 chickens to spend most of their time? It's about 9' x 3', so less than the recommended 10' per square feet if I get 4 chickens. I plan to let them free range a little in my garden while I'm home (probably about an hour 3-4 days per week, but probably no time outside of the run on the long days that I'm at work).

I'm also worried about how difficult it will be to clean the run - it will have to stay in one spot rather than being tractored around, and it is a first edition cube so it has a tiny door on the end of the run. Basically, I'm trying to decide if I should bite the bullet and just build a larger 6'x8' walk-in run attached to the cube to begin with, or if I should try using the run that came with the cube first.