EMERGECY - egg in membrane hanging out

Zoom Zoom

Songster
6 Years
Mar 15, 2014
Rolla, MO
I just discovered one of my BOs with an egg in a membrane hanging completely out of her vent. I tried to get it loose but it hurts her when I touch it. I'm afraid to force it. Don't see any kind of opening where the egg can come out. I'm new to chickens and frantic to help her. What should I do?

Not sure I made it clear that the membrane is hanging out of her vent and the egg is far enough out that I can hold the membrane behind the egg. I tried gently squeezing behind the egg hoping there was an opening for it to come out but it didn't work and it hurt her. This is a terrible thing to happen on Christmas day - vet's office closed and I can't reach anyone locally who might be able to advise me.

Without a picture it is hard to imagine what you are trying to describe. Have you tried bathing her vent with warm water to soften the membrane etc, and then using a lubricated finger (vaseline or cooking oil) to try and help it out?

As KayTee said, a picture would be great so that we can make sure how to help you. I have read about egg binding occurring with an egg trapped under the skin. Some have been able to give a warm shallow bath in a sink, and with lubricant try to massage the egg out. Others have eventually had to cut the tissue to get the egg out. There is another condition called a prolapsed vent or cloaca, where the internal tissue of the vent pops out, and some of those hens can have a stuck egg at the same time. It may be painful for her, but you may need to go ahead and try getting it out. Egg binding can be caused by a lack of calcium or dehydration, so give her some calcium (a Tums or calcium tablet, or some crushed egg shells or oyster shell to eat.) Here is a link to read about this: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/816429/egg-hanging-outside-vent

Last edited: