emergencies and diseases, plus chat and game thread!

Discussion in 'Games, Jokes, and Fun!' started by Chickensfan, Jun 26, 2016.

1. Chickensfan

Chickensfan Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2016
    California!
    Hello, I am new to backyardchickens.com, and here is my first thread.
    MY WHITE CRESTED BLACK POLISH CHICKEN HAS A WHITE TONGUE!!! it's true! this morning, I came to check on the chickens, and saw Hattie, my 12 week old white crested polish hen keeping her beak open. She was/is breathing just fine, and when i looked in her throat to check for Gapeworms, I saw her tongue! it was white and thin. I let them out of the coop, and she looked happy, but continued to keep her beak open, her tongue going up and then down and back again. She is continuing to refuse to drink water, even after I put vitamins in it. I have been dipping her beak every so often so she won't get dehydrated.(trust me, this was not a easy thing to do.) I have noticed that her tail feathers look a little ripped, but other that that and her tongue, she looks completely fine. Later, I checked on her again. It was hard to catch her with her beak open since she was already doing it a little less. Her tongue had a couple little brownish spots on it and it that looked a bit like a fungus. Her breath smelled awful and her tongue was even thinner. It was a pretty hot day, but her wings weren't out so i know she wasn't overheated. She has been doing it for about a week and only today i noticed her tongue. None of the other chickens seem to have caught what she has. I have been researching chicken illnesses like crazy but nothing will come up. I even looked here, on backyard chickens. So i decided to make my own account/thread.
    PLEASE HELP ME!!! I CAN'T LOSE HATTIE WHILE SHE IS SO YOUNG!!![​IMG][​IMG]

2. Chickensfan

Jun 26, 2016
    California!
    Hattie hasn't eaten all day. I just fed Hats some wet soft food. She went crazy for it and ate like she has never eaten before. [​IMG]