emergencies

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenlady8, Dec 7, 2011.

1. chickenlady8

chickenlady8 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2011
    I am fairly new to raising chickens and had a disaster! I had 3 hens that were 8 months old. One of them had been laying 5 eggs a week since she was 6 months old. They were in a totally enclosed chicken coop (wood on one end, top and sides, and chicken wire with a chain-link gate on the other side. Something got in a few nights ago and took one of the chickens leaving only a few feathers, leaving one chicken alone, and the third with a bleeding neck. I began tending the bleeding one by using an antiseptic first-aid powder. The predator (I'm thinking bob-cat) came and left through a very small space where he or she pulled the chain-link from a corner of the gate - no more than 4 inches in diameter. I fixed the gate and hoped for the best, then during the night it came again. It again pulled the chain link away from the poles but in a new spot. This time it took the remaining healthy chicken and left my poor invalid one alone. Again no carcass.
    I have brought the sick one inside and have her in a dog crate. She will drink if the water is brought to her and only nibbles at her food. I'm boiling an egg as we speak because I read where hard-boiled egg is good. She doesn't stand well and doesn't really move so for the past few days have been lifting her and taking her to the water and food and holding her until she drinks or nibbles. She will churtle a little now and then and has bright eyes.
    Her neck is totally exposed and there appears to be a deep hole on one side, but the bleeding stopped pretty much right away when I first treated her. Any ideas?

2. peterlund

peterlund Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2010
    MA Cranberry Country