Emergency, fox got chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rkeyser, Jan 15, 2013.

1. rkeyser

rkeyser New Egg

Jan 15, 2013
    Okay, so just as I got home, I saw my flock flying over to where I was, I heard one of them screaming, so I ran to see what was the matter. I found a chicken in the mouth of a fox and I successfully scared it away. I got the hen (a buff banty cochin) and she isn't really bleeding too much, but rather she has an open wound. I sprayed the wound with Veterycyn and she is now in my lap. The wound is under her wing and about the sized of a nickel. Is there anything I can do? (please don't tell me to kill the fox, they are ironically my favorite animal...) The rest of my flock actually made it surprisingly, but what should I do for her, she is missing skin and a lot of feathers.

Thank You so much,
    R Keyser

P.s. I'm new to backyard chickens

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] OK, you can apply Neosporin to the wound - the kind without the pain relief additive. Put the hen in a warm dark place. She may be a little shocky. As long as she has no internal injuries, she should be fine. Skin wounds in chickens generally heal readily. About the fox - it will be back. If you want to keep your chickens you will have to keep them enclosed in a predator proof pen. Good luck. You may beforced to decide whether fox or chickens are your favorite animals.

1 person likes this.
  3. rkeyser

rkeyser New Egg

Jan 15, 2013
    Thank you so much, Will do. We have a yak for livestock protection, and that usually suffices, but this was out of her range. Thanks again!

4. sourland

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey