Emergency Muscovy Hatch!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Bleenie, Jan 18, 2010.

1. Bleenie

Bleenie Wyan-DO's

I had my mother incubate some eggs for me & the 2 scovy eggs left have been due. One is moving a lto so im not worried but the other has been dead-looking for the last few days (i've had a lot of problems because of the weather). My mother also had a terrible time with her roomate messing with the bator so i expected there might be issues.

FIRST, I have a lot of experience with doing this. we had scovies before and the mommas would leave the nest of 40 after about 10 babies so we would have to finish the work and help a lot.

anyway, I opened the egg & thought for sure he was dead, no movement at all [​IMG] i dripped some warm water on the membrane to see if that would cause him to stir but nothing still. right when i was going to set it down and give up the little fart jumped! SO excited!! [​IMG] He was still very still so i peeled back some of the shell and opened up the membrane so he could breathe. Everything looked alright, he's just really "blah". I wrapped him in a warm, wet cloth & put him back in the bator with the others.

It's an adorable little Pied baby (possibly blue but hard to tell wet). Keep your fingers crossed for him please!! it seems like forever since i've had baby Muscovies!

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  2. Shadowhills Farm

Shadowhills Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Crystal River, Fl
    AWWWWW [​IMG][​IMG]

Crossing fingers for the little ducky!

3. keeperofthehearth

keeperofthehearth Chillin' With My Peeps

Awwww! I sure hope & pray the little one will be alright. Be sure to give us an update.

4. houndit

houndit There is no H or F in Orpington!

Jul 13, 2008
    Braymer Missouri
    I pray that he will be fine as well.

5. duckyfromoz

duckyfromoz Quackaholic

Jan 11, 2010
    Australia