Emergency! Please help! Hawk attack left my girl severely injured

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by aggielady, Nov 23, 2013.

1. aggielady

aggielady Out Of The Brooder

Oct 3, 2013
    Texas
    I just came home to see that there were feathers all around my coop. Somehow a hawk had gotten in and killed one of my 2 month old Gold Stars and scalped one of my 3 month old Wyandottes. It literally flew out at me when I came up to the coop. The other three escaped to safety but Rosemary is severely injured.

The top of her head and the top of her neck scalped back to the "meat" and she must be in pain. She is still walking around and is jittery but I am new to chickens and have no way to know how to treat her.

PLEASE HELP me help Rosemary!! [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    This just happened to my Polish hen today also, but it was a juvenile rooster instead of a hawk. Clean her scalp with weak betadine or Hibiclens and dry it. Apply Neopsorin ointment (plain) and leave it open. Try to give her a high protein meal--raw egg, yogurt, and oats or chick feed mixed. Then put her in a cage with food and water. If she is not eating/drinking she may be in shock. Apply the Neosprin daily and check for infection. After a week or so if it has healed, you can apply BluKote to color the scalp so it doesn't attract pecking. Put her back into the flock gradually. I would keep the cage inside the coop and run so she doesn't lose her pecking order status. Sorry it happened and good luck.

3. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    You may have some of these things.
    Salt, Hydrogen Peroxide, Betadine, Campho-Phenique, triple-antibiotic like Neosporin. If not they are at your drugstore.
    Flush with saline to clean any debris.