Emergency supplies and favorite online stores?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Peppermint, May 25, 2010.

1. Peppermint

Peppermint Chillin' With My Peeps

If an illness or emergency arises, I KNOW it will happen after the feed store is closed or it is some major holiday, lol! I'm thinking of getting a couple items to have on hand just in case. I've been reading about botulism and other minor ailments such as pecked eyes and skin infections...do you keep antibiotic ointment and other meds on hand to deal with illnesses? [​IMG]

ETA: What are your favorite sources to obtain these products if our local feed store doesn't have them?

Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  2. Mrs. Green Thumbs

Mrs. Green Thumbs Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm a newbie as well as a lot of other's here on the BYC it seems and I keep water soluble antibiotics on hand I also have a well stocked first aid cabinet with gauze, topical disinfectant's ect. pretty much anything a regular house hold might need for every day issues. Of course I keep pedealyte in case of any body becoming dehydrated or lethargic. (kid's included) Other than that.... I think it's a learn as we go kind of operation. Hope I helped a bit and I hope you get more responses soon.

3. PeepsInc

PeepsInc Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2009
    NY Tri State region
    A few things to have on hand is Tylan 50 injectable & syringes with baby needle tips. That will take care of the respiratory problems.(Signs would be swollen eyes, bubbles around mouth & eyes. & bad breath). Sulmet & Corid will work to cure Coryza,Bloody toxidia,Coccidiosis & a number of other things. The sulmet is best as a preventative,or if you catch the problem early. The Corid works faster, & will work on birds that need to be tube fed. Don't forget the vitamin & electrolytes. [​IMG]

4. Peppermint

PeepsInc [​IMG]