Emergency! What now?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LaylaFlora, Mar 16, 2015.

1. LaylaFlora

LaylaFlora Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2012
    This is my first time using an incubator. It's the Brinsea octagon eco 20. I bought a pricey digital hygrometer made in the U.S.A. Per the Brinsea instructions, I've been keeping the humidity level between 40-50% at a steady 44%. The temp is at 99.5 F. Today is day 8.

I candled my eggs last night and have 20 out of 24 "good" ones EXCEPT---- they all have GIANT air sacks!!! Almost a third the size of the entire egg. I am so saddened by this. Does this mean they are all going to die? Will they all have crooked toes? I am so disappointed as I invested major $$$ into this incubator and I could have just used my broody hen like last year.

Is there anything I can do now to prevent a horrible hatch rate?

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    If the air cells are already too big (Can you mark a couple and take a pic and put it up for us?) then you higher your humidity. I'd say if you are already at 40-45 go for 65%. (Has your hygrometer ever been checked for accuracy?) Highering the humidity will slow/stop the eggs from loosing more moisture and give the developement of the chick time to catch up with the development of the air cell. If they aren't like day 18 big then chances are you have time to average it out.

3. LaylaFlora

LaylaFlora Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2012
    Thank you for your reply! Here is a pic:
    [​IMG]
    Sorry it's sideways. Those are some BIG air sacks [​IMG]

I have increased the humidity to 65%.

How do you test the accuracy of a hygrometer? I invested in a good one....I thought....

4. Silkie-Feet

Silkie-Feet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2010
    Ky, Kentucky