Emotionally weak - pet ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by jendarwin, Jan 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jendarwin

jendarwin Songster

Dec 24, 2016
    I need a lot of advices from youll. I’m no duck expert but Iv been raising two beautiful ducks for a year now. They are pet ducks and love them to bits. I had to be away on a trip for two weeks and send them to a foster home. The entire trip I was regretting and wanted to see them soon. I got back and to my surprise they did recognise me but did not want to leave the foster home. It’s day 2 now and I see them not liking our place. They weren’t the same they were before. They are always by themselves and refuse to bond.
    I did ask the foster lady if she would like to adopt to them as they live it there more and she has refused. I give them a lot of treats and trying to get them back.
    Question is: what should I do? Should I give them sometime to get use to us again or should I relocate them to a farm with other ducks?

Please help me

Miss Lydia likes this.
  2. Ducktown

Ducktown Songster

May 8, 2017
    They will adapt to their old home again. Ducks like a lot of space to roam around freely and if that was the case in their foster home, they liked it better. Ducks adapt quickly. They will accept you again. I was away from home for 2 weeks+, and my imprinted drake remembered me. They started refusing to go to their coop while I was gone though and I couldn't get them go in again, not without a 'fight'.
    Drake was a bit reserved for a day or two and went back to normal soon after. I think you should wait a bit longer and see how it goes. Good luck!

3. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia John 3:16

I agree it will take them some time to adapt again but TLC and lots of treats should warm their hearts.

Mama Runner, DwayneNLiz and jendarwin like this.
  4. jendarwin

jendarwin Songster

Dec 24, 2016