Emu Incubation Help (Emu Hatchers Please)

hmlongino

Songster
13 Years
Jun 12, 2009
Fayetteville, GA
Hi!

i’ve hatched countless chickens, ducks, turkey, and guineas,but this is my first time with emu.

I have 5 wiggling eggs at day 53. Two pipped thru the shell yesterday (about 20 hours ago now). They are vocal and working, but seem to be struggling. Should it take a full day or two after breaking through? I don’t want to assist and break the membrane in case vessels aren’t ready, but I don’t want to wait too long, either. Any assistance/advice would be fantastic.
Thanks!
FEDD2D56-49B5-4FED-B985-B5DAC168D538.jpeg

Hi!

i’ve hatched countless chickens, ducks, turkey, and guineas,but this is my first time with emu.

I have 5 wiggling eggs at day 53. Two pipped thru the shell yesterday (about 20 hours ago now). They are vocal and working, but seem to be struggling. Should it take a full day or two after breaking through? I don’t want to assist and break the membrane in case vessels aren’t ready, but I don’t want to wait too long, either. Any assistance/advice would be fantastic.
Thanks!View attachment 2513532
I don't have experience with emus, but thought I'd ask, is your humidity really high?
And can you see any yawning motions?
Emus are awesome! So exciting! Fingers crossed they hatch ok!!!

Thank you! 😊
I made sure not to keep humidity too high, as emus are SO different than all the other poultry I raise in this respect.

I teach 4 separate ag classes, and I really want some good news for them on this hatch! 😊

Thank you! 😊
I made sure not to keep humidity too high, as emus are SO different than all the other poultry I raise in this respect.

I teach 4 separate ag classes, and I really want some good news for them on this hatch! 😊
Ok! I just know it should be higher at lockdown so they don't dry out. What is the humidity currently at?
Hopefully Pyxis chimes in soon. :)
I can't think of anyone else who keeps Emus atm.