Encourage egg laying in nest boxes!!!!!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Harryojwright, Sep 26, 2011.

1. Harryojwright

Harryojwright New Egg

May 1, 2011
    my chickens are laying outside near a tree, how do i get them to lay in the nest boxes!!!

2. sjmarshall87

sjmarshall87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    Carthage
    I am fairly new at this but have been having the same issues. I was instructed to keep my girls locked up longer into the day. It took me 3 days keeping them locked up till 2 pm to get them to understand they had to lay in the house. We havent gotten into the nest boxes yet but getting closer! [​IMG] good luck!

3. JodyJo

JodyJo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2010
    Colorado
    keep them locked in a bit longer, till at least 11/noonish. Place golf balls in the nesting boxes, I also put a "privacy" curtain in front of my boxes, no issues now.
    I had to do the lock down thing 3 times...after finding eggs all over the place, I think they got it now! They all use the same box, but it seems to have been
    the best advice.

4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Fake wooden eggs in the nest boxes will help. Most chickens prefer to lay where there are other eggs, because it's "obvously" a safe place (as attested to by the "egg" already there. Containing them to the coop/run for a few days to get them started can help too.

5. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Fake wooden eggs in the nest boxes will help. Most chickens prefer to lay where there are other eggs, because it's "obvously" a safe place (as attested to by the "egg" already there. Containing them to the coop/run until late afternoon can help too.

6. mathesonfarm

mathesonfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 17, 2010
    New York
    Yup, I did what everyone else did and it worked beautifully!