Etiquette ? RE: Sympathy cards

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by gritsar, Feb 15, 2011.

1. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Some background. Five years ago I worked as a hospice nurse for a very nice elderly couple when the wife was dying of cancer. I stayed every night and early morning with her so her DH could get some rest. The couple lived in a small town on the other side of the county from where I currently live. Of their three grown children, two boys and a girl, the boys live on the family farm outside that small town, the daughter lives several hours away in Little Rock. I grew fairly close to the daughter during her mothers illness and kept in touch with her for a couple of years after her mother passed. The sons I occasionally see in town and we exchange hellos, but don't stop to chat. I would occasionally see the father in town and once or twice stopped by to visit him when I happened to be in the area.

A very strange incident happened the day after the mother passed that I will remember to my dying day. I was driving to the parents home to offer my condolences when I had a thunderclap moment. When I got there, I pulled the daughter and one son aside and told them that they needed to remove all the guns from the house, immediately. I thought they would think me a chook, but I had to tell them. To my surprise they took me seriously and straight away had the one son take his dad for a walk while the DD and other DS removed the weapons. The very next day the DD called me in tears. She said she had been woken up early that morning by her dad rifling through the house. When she asked him what he was looking for, he told her his guns. He then asked her if they had been removed and she told him yes. He told it was a very smart thing that they had done. She thanked me for saving her dad's life. This drew the daughter and I closer together for awhile.