Eumelanin based color (such as blue) as ground color with black lacing pattern?

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the Standard o' started by katefollot, Mar 19, 2017.

1. katefollot

katefollot Out Of The Brooder

So, is it possible for eumelanin to be a ground color and for there to be black lacing on top of that?

I'm assuming it is possible as this is what Papa's Poultry is doing with their Blue Silver Laced Orps project, but I've also read that ground color is only ever silver/cream/isabel/gold/red. Can someone explain to me what I'm missing?

2. br0nc0

br0nc0 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 14, 2017
    Slovenia
    Well, the two questions you're asking aren't really related... I'm no expert, but eumelanin (black) ground color is possible, but you can't have a black chicken with some sort of lacing, since most genes responsible for lacing restrict the black pigment to the outer areas od the feather, making feathers mostly non-black.

What Papa's Poultry is doing has been done with other breeds, and it's basically a black laced gold with silver and blue genes making it blue laced silver. In this case eumelanin is already restricted to the feather edges, and the inside of feathers is pheomelanin. Silver affects pheomelanin and makes it silver and blue affects eumelanin and makes it blue.

If anyone with more knowledge of genetics can add something that'd be great (and maybe also someone who's native English speaker)

3. katefollot

From what I've read, eumelanin is black/brown and pheomelanin is red/yellow?

And From Henk69:

There are 4 aspects of a chicken color:

1. groundcolor (silver/cream/isabel/gold/red)
    2. pattern- or eumelanin-color (black/blue/white/chocolate/lavender/khaki/mauve/beige)
    3. the pattern/distribution of the eumelanin (eg Partridge/columbian/laced/autosomal barred/solid/self etc...)
    4. overlay pattern (like mottled or sexlinked barred or both and maybe recessive white)

So... Both blue and black are eumelanin based.