Ewww Yuk My Duck ate a Baby Bird

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sheilaz, Jun 23, 2008.

1. sheilaz

sheilaz Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2008
    Poland
    I've been raising a few ducks for 3 or 4 years (diferent birds every year.) They free range plus I feed them duck food.

I have seen them eat snails and frogs several times, but yesterday they totally grossed me out by eating a fledgling bird, probably a sparrow or tit.

They were really quite manic about it, and a huge compitition arose for a taste. (I have 5 ducks that are about 3 months old.)

The irony of the whole thing is at the time I was helping a neighbor girl with a fledlging sparrow that she was nursing back to health after an encounter with a cat.

Has anyone else ever witnessed the same thing?

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Ducks are omnivors. They eat meat and vegetables. Slugs, bugs, snails, lizards, frogs, fish, mice, even baby birds. They also like to graze. It is very normal.

Alot of people assume geese are the same way but they are herbivors. They like to graze a pasture like a cow or a sheep.

3. sheilaz

sheilaz Out Of The Brooder

May 16, 2008
    Poland
    Thanks Miss Prissy -- I new they were omnivors, but had no idea that they ate birds. It just somehow seems so "impolite." But I guess we mamamls dine on one another. Anyway, my cutsy "Donald Duck" image of them is forever shattered.

4. tomstephens

tomstephens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2008
    Charlotte NC
    might seem strange but my chickens keep trying to eat birds too. My little 8 week old EE roo caught and was calling over his girls to chow down on a chickadee. The chickadee escaped amidst the pecking somehow but they sure tried to eat it.

5. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Chickens are raptors!

6. Ace_king_brahma

Ace_king_brahma Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2008