Excited Newbie!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by jctid, Feb 22, 2013.

1. jctid

jctid Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2013
    HI! I am a newbie chicken person, and I am so excited about all of my new chicks! I wanted to show you all pictures, and get opinions about each breed. (like are they cranky, cuddly, broody, etc.) I have read all the info on what to expect for them, but thought your personal experiences would be fun to share, too.

This is Oreo, the Silver Laced Wyandotte:
    [​IMG]

Sunny (side up), a Golden Sex Link:
    [​IMG]

Finn, a Buff Orpington:
    [​IMG]

This is Devil, an Easter Egger:
    [​IMG]

And this is Katniss, a Barred Plymouth Rock:
    [​IMG]

I have 3 more, but they haven't had their photo shoot yet. I will add them later. Thanks for looking!

2. BTinks

BTinks Out Of The Brooder

Feb 22, 2013
    Hi! I'm a chicken newbie too! Your little chicks are so cute and I love their names!

3. UrbanChickenSF

UrbanChickenSF Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 22, 2013
    San Francisco, CA
    Great names! I'm also a newbie. I'm interested to follow this thread and see what folks have to say about the various breeds you have. :)

4. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Awesome new chicks!!! They'll be beautiful hens!

5. Johnson5326

Johnson5326 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 22, 2012
    Adorable cuteness if I do say so myself. I just got my first 7 chicks (well we had some when I was a kid but they were bought as adults). I got 6 ducks last year and they have been great (until 4 AM when they escape the duck house and quack as loudly as possible under my bedroom window [​IMG]). Your chicks are all different than mine. I have 3 Rhode Island Red hens and 3 Black Giant straight runs, and another hen that is either a Black Giant or sexlink. They're about a week old now. I got them last Sunday from Tractor Supply [​IMG]

6. margh

margh Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2013