Expat in Hungary

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by VillageChicken, May 24, 2010.

1. VillageChicken

VillageChicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello,
    I'm totally new to keeping chickens, and have enjoyed learning and following various topics on this site. I'm from California but live in a small village in Hungary with my wife and 1 year old daughter. It's an adventure learning to keep chickens here in a foreign country without easy access to all that one can find in other places. I guess I'm officially hooked now that I've joined.
    I have a few young hens - I haven't learned all the acronyms yet, 2 BO's, 2 Barred Rocks, and two hens that are the hungarian version of an ISA Brown. I have a roo that was supposed to be a barred PR hen, who according to what I've learned on chicken genetics, is Bb with Mh since he's feathering out gold in the hackles, saddle and wingbars.

2. Highlander

Highlander Tartan Terror

Oct 1, 2008
    Prague
    [​IMG] I have a friend that lives in Hungary. We went to visit a couple of years back and we are going again this summer.

3. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO
    [​IMG] Welcome! So nice to have you. It is fun to learn about new places as well as meet wonderful new people! Please post pics when you can. We will all share info and have fun learning. [​IMG]

4. tammyd57

tammyd57 Chillin' With My Peeps

[​IMG] and [​IMG] from California!

5. theoldchick

theoldchick The Chicken Whisperer

May 11, 2010
    [​IMG]

6. 3goodeggs

3goodeggs pays attention sporadically

May 22, 2009
    North Central Florida
    I agree! Welcome and post pictures so we can see what Hungary looks like!
    It is like having chicken pen pals. Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

7. Mattemma

Mattemma Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    Jo napot kivanok! Minus all those lovely little symbols above the vowels! It took forever to learn those.