Expired near to hatch chick - what went wrong (WARNING - GRAPHIC PICS)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by kaffleck, Sep 9, 2009.

1. kaffleck

kaffleck Out Of The Brooder

Aug 11, 2009
    Hiya,

I open up an unhatched egg today (nearing the end of day 22) and this is what I saw. It's my first attempt at hatching and I want to see if there's anything I can do to increase my hatch rate (although it turns out only 2 eggs were viable so 1 out of 2 isn't that bad!). Now I know pretty much nothing about this stuff and really want to learn so some of my questions may seem dumb but please bare with me [​IMG].

Chicky hadn't pipped. Can anyone have a guess at what day it would have been at? The one successful hatch was at day 20 and I think this one was already gone by then as I didn't hear any peeping and the live one was making a racket.

What is that white fat like substance on the left of pic one?

Is that the intestines I'm seeing that it looks like the chick is cuddling with it's feet?

Anything else anyone can tell me as to why it didn't make it? Many thanks in advance.

I don't really want to take it out the membrane but will if it helps.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. texascowboy1979

texascowboy1979 Chillin' With My Peeps

I had that happen to me tooo... it happend to my pheasants... Its kinda depressing when you 1st get started.. but im sure in time we will figure it out. I wish I could be of more help... but Im a bit new at this too...

3. muzzles&nuzzles

muzzles&nuzzles Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2009
    MI
    It is hard to tell. Usually with banties the yolk will be down there. The membrane doesn't look dried out so that probably wasn't the reason.
    Did you have extreme temp spikes? It could always be a genetic defect. I just lost a blue silkie but it had absorbed its yolk. I think it was too dry so it couldn't turn to pip.