1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

explain the whole fertalized egg thing to me ..

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Wendy'sChicksRock, Sep 22, 2010.

1. Wendy'sChicksRock

Wendy'sChicksRock Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2010
    Oakland county ,MI
    ok, not to be a total newbie but I was wondering how this all works.Once they mate how many eggs will she lay that are fertile? Is it a one egg per
    rendezvous or will she lay several over a period of time? I want to send my broody silkie over to my friends to see if we can give her some eggs to hatch, she seems set on being a mom and I feel bad for her.Will she mate with him if she is already broody or should i just get some eggs from my friend and let her hatch those?

thanx's a bunch:confused:

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Wendy'sChicksRock :

ok, not to be a total newbie but I was wondering how this all works.Once they mate how many eggs will she lay that are fertile? Is it a one egg per
    rendezvous or will she lay several over a period of time? I want to send my broody silkie over to my friends to see if we can give her some eggs to hatch, she seems set on being a mom and I feel bad for her.Will she mate with him if she is already broody or should i just get some eggs from my friend and let her hatch those?

thanx's a bunch:confused: