Exposing kids to butchering. Please take a second to weigh in.

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Shikens!, Jul 18, 2011.

1. Shikens!

Shikens! Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2011
    I'll keep this short and simple.

I am going to buy a meat bird and have my 2 step daughters involved in the raising butchering and cooking. I think it is important that at least once in their lives they see where food comes from. I think it's important for a lot of reasons.

My question is, when YOUR kid was exposed to this whole process did younger kids understand and except it better or do older kids handle it better? The last thing I want is more harm than good.

The girls are 11 and 14. I feel like the younger the better but I have never done this before. Please share! I am especially interested in anyone that has done this with step kids. Please weigh in on how that went down.

*yawn* I'll check this in the morning.

2. PotterWatch

PotterWatch My Patronus is a Chicken

Apr 22, 2008
    Virginia
    I think it depends on the kid and your approach to it as well. My kids were about 6.5 and 8 when we raised our first meaties and now at 9.5 and 11, they help with every processing and are an invaluable part of our team. We have had older kids come watch or help and they did fine as well. But there are kids who really don't like it and certainly don't want to help. We have always been very matter-of-fact about it and our kids now have that same attitude. I'm sure my older nieces would want nothing to do with it but sometimes they surprise you.

Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  3. JulieNKC

JulieNKC Overrun With Chickens

Sep 25, 2010
    Kansas City