Extracting Gapeworm

RaeJean

In the Brooder
Nov 22, 2015
My flock showing signs of gapeworm infestation, heading shaking, neck stretching, opening mouth, etc. I gave them each 1/2cc of Safeguard orally and 3cc per gallon in their water for the past 3 days. I’ve seen dead round worms in their feces so I know Safeguard is working. But at day 5 still shaking their heading, stretching neck, etc. If gapeworm is attached to the trachea area, does it detach when it dies or does the chicken cough it out? Should I assume they are still alive if chicks exhibiting signs of infestation? Really frustrating. Any info would be appreciated

Really frustrating. I've been following a gapeworm treatment regime found on this website which you indicate is incorrect. I really wish that people would refrain from posting information on this website that is incorrect. I am a novice at best and rely on the information posted by this community to help answer common questions. I guess I will buy more Safeguard and start the treatment regime all over. Should I withhold food before administering the Safeguard?

Really frustrating. I've been following a gapeworm treatment regime found on this website which you indicate is incorrect. I really wish that people would refrain from posting information on this website that is incorrect. I am a novice at best and rely on the information posted by this community to help answer common questions. I guess I will buy more Safeguard and start the treatment regime all over. Should I withhold food before administering the Safeguard?
It is not necessary to withhold food. In fact, squirting the dose into a small piece of bread and feeding the bread to the bird is about the easiest way to treat them.
Good luck.

Have you had fecals run? Maybe it's gapeworm, maybe not. Fenbendazole given as directed above will work, if that's what's wrong. The bird may still have some soreness and not feel normal immediately, even if this is the problem.
Mary