1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Eye infection ??

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by zsquared08, Oct 17, 2013.

1. zsquared08

zsquared08 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2013
    Hello ---, being that I am new to raising chickens and everything I have a question I really hope someone can help me out. Saturday I went out to tend to my chickens and my favorite little chicken (Angel) came out with her head turned the whole way over to the side so I immedialtey panicked and thought maybe something was wrong with her neck until I grabbed her and noticed her eye was shut and kind of crusty around it. She was scratching at it so I put some Neosporin on it and Sunday it looked better it was slightly opened now today she had it closed again and it looks a little bit worse, I have been putting Neosporin around it and it seemed to help for a few days but now I am worried. I was thinking about calling a vet but I don't know of any in my area that would specialize in farm animals or would be willing to take a look at her, plus I am really not in a financial state to have a vet make a house call. My mom was at my house today cleaning the coop and took her out and put her in her own pen/cage in our garage to keep her out of the dampness (since its rained for 4 days straight) and isolate her so the other ones so they don' pick on her in case it would make her worse. At this point I just don't know what next step to take with it ? Any help would be greatly appreciated !
    Thank you so much !!!

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio