Eye injury/problem

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by mrskalka, Dec 11, 2016.

1. mrskalka

mrskalka Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2015
    [​IMG]
    Hi everyone, I found my lil girl (blacky) like this today. I am new to chickens and have no idea wht this is?? Could it be fowl pox or something? She is the smallest and all thethe other girl pick on her badly almost to the point she won't go into the coop.. I also just started putting hay in thier coop, could she be allergic??
    She is eating drinking, sratching and taking dust baths normally.
    What could it be and how do I treat?[​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    It looks more like pecking than fowl pox to me. Do you still have mosquitoes out now? How much room do you have in your coop for your chickens, and do they get out to range in the yard daily? Some reasons for pecking can be a lack of room, lack of protein in the diet, or boredom. Make sure they are getting at least 16-20 % protein layer or all flock feed. The more they get outside the better. Watch their behavior to see if she is being picked on by a particular bully, and separate the bully for up to a week.

3. mrskalka

mrskalka Out Of The Brooder

Mar 25, 2015