Eye Pecking

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JerseyHen, Apr 15, 2011.

1. JerseyHen

JerseyHen Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 10, 2011
    Sussex County, NJ
    Just got 20 new babies today and a few have a bad eye pecking habit. I know it is the shiny object/bug hunting instinct, but are there ways to stop it? I have a red light and big brooder with a roost and such for them to keep busy with. Our first group didn't do this at all. They are even going for the week olds. Thoughts?

2. simplybusy

simplybusy Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2011
    I'm sure someone else can probably offer better advice, as I'm VERY new to this chicken Mama business. [​IMG] (Mine are about 12 days old). I did have one chick that was constantly obsessing over the other 3 chick's eyes. It seemed almost as if on purpose. I'm not sure what stopped the behavior but now she/he is not so interested in the eyes, although that's the chick with the kamakazzi (sp?) personality and is the first to go running to the edge of the brooder when I pull the hardware cloth off the top. LOL. Over the last week, I did move them into a large 100gal stock tank that stands about 30 inches high (and is covered with hardware cloth). We also have always had a red brooder bulb over them. I kinda thought that giving them more space and just the fact that they're growing was the thing that pursuaded him/her to not go for the eyes... but honestly I have no idea. If you have lots of space for them and a roost and stuff for them to "do", then I'm not sure what the problem is. Like I said - I'm new to this too!

Hope someone else can jump on here and offer some good old fashioned experienced advice. [​IMG]

3. JerseyHen

Feb 10, 2011
    Sussex County, NJ