1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Eye sores - need help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by macncheese, Sep 24, 2012.

1. macncheese

macncheese New Egg

Sep 24, 2012
    Hello All,
    I am new to this backyard chicken thing and have a problem with one of my girls. I recently purchased 3 hens and one has come down with something. She has sores on both eyes. I thought it may have been fowl cholera from doing research online, but now I am not sure.
    I have treated all 3 hens with a water soluble sulfa antibiotic for 4 days and the eye has not changed. I have also been cleaning her eyes and applying Neosporin twice a day for the last 2 days. I am at a loss on what to do now.
    Any advise would be appreciated. My 4 year old daughter is completely attached to these girls and we would hate to lose any of them. Below is a picture of Macaroni's eye. Thanks a million!
    .[​IMG]

2. CMV

CMV Flock Mistress

Apr 15, 2009
    You may want to have those birds tested. You should also look up "coryza" and see if that may be what you are dealing with.

3. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    maybe fowl pox?

4. chickenzoo

chickenzoo Emu Hugger

That looks like a bunch of small sores....almost like bite sores from an insect or something...like wasp stings or something. Try giving some Benadryl to see if it helps. Fowl pix is normally raised bumps that get dark and scabby...but those seem more like blisters.....

1 person likes this.
  5. TurtlePowerTrav

TurtlePowerTrav T.K.'s Farm

Jul 29, 2012
    Oregon City, OR
    My Coop