Eye Worms ( My Annabell)

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Dina k, Feb 21, 2014.

1. Dina k

Dina k Out Of The Brooder

Jun 9, 2013
    Need some advice. I noticed that my Annabell had what looked like a milky substance in the corner of her bad eye. I thought it was debris of some kind so I gently flush her eye thinking this would help. The next day it looked like a white ring. I did some research and it is eye worms. I'm new at this so I picked up VetX. Will this work??? I don't have a picture at the moment of this problem only Annabell. Is there a better way to get rid of or to prevent this????? I looked threw the threads but could not find one on eye worms. The problem is in the eye that you see in the picture.(meaning her bad eye)

[​IMG]

2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia
    Did a google search and a whole page of reputable sites offering answers came up so I will just offer you the link. Hope it helps.
    Quote:

3. pwand

pwand Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 10, 2007
    BC Canada
  4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Eye worm is a very rare type of round worm that exists in tropical areas where the Surinam roach lives. Symptoms are severe scratching of the eye. Respiratory infections causing eye symptoms can resemble it. There are methods described of using 0.5% iodine or 0.5% Lysol, then washing out the eye right afterwards, but the safest method would be to use the wormer albendazole (Valbazen) directly into the eye twice a day for 3 straight days, and then also giving it orally at 25 mg per Kg (or each 2.2 lbs) once. Here is a study that used this method: http://jivaonline.net/admin/upload/pdf_139.pdf

Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
    1 person likes this.
  5. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    You can actually see the worms in the eye:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. Dina k

Jun 9, 2013