Family Dog, New Chickens...any tips on creating harmony?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by saylernsaxonsmom, Jul 27, 2010.

1. saylernsaxonsmom

saylernsaxonsmom Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2010
    Petersburg
    Hello all! I'm very new to the world of chicken and would love some help on our newest issue. Our Great dane (2 1/2 years) is a big sweetie, but seems a bit too interested in our chickens. He watches them through the windows, barks a bit if they get too close to the sliding glass doors, etc. Nothing aggressive, but I don't trust him as far as I can throw him. I see dogs around chickens all the time, but I'm not sure how to go about it. Our boy has not been raised around chickens. He's as new to it as we are. Any ideas on how to desensitize our beast? I'm sure our girls will rest easier!

[​IMG]

2. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers

How well is he trained? Does he know the "Leave it!" command?

I would strongly suggest hyper-vigilance and never leave him with chickens unsupervised until you learn he is safe with them. My DACHSHUND was a chicken killer and I had to work with him constantly to get him to be safe around the chickens. He's still not safe unsupervised around chicks or young chickens. The grown up chickens (and rooster!) taught him they weren't easy marks, and my two ducks reinforced the "don't mess with us" rule.

Now, the only things I have to worry about with Zorro is his annoying habit of stealing goodies FROM THE CHICKENS when I put out treats for them, and he does chase the bantams.

3. texasgal

texasgal Brood with an Attitude

Apr 18, 2009
    A good fence...

4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens