1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Far north chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by northernchick45, Apr 12, 2017.

1. northernchick45

northernchick45 Just Hatched

Apr 12, 2017
    Northern Ontario
    I'm a newbie! Especially to forums, etc.

My dad always had chickens. He passed away 4 years ago. :( I decided to revive the coop he had built. It does my heart good to see it put back into use![​IMG]

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

We picked up our 6 hens and 1 rooster this morning!

(3) What breeds do you have?

Red sex-link

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

I was googling what kitchen scraps are suitable for chickens and this website came up!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

Gardening, self-sufficient life style.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.

My hubby and I are in our 50's and have recently built our retirement home in northern Ontario. We are above the 45th parallel and can get down to the minus 40's in the winter. It is April 12th and we still have snow on the ground. It is minus 1 Celcius with a cold west wind. Brrrr. We farm cash crops on about 150 acres (farmers don't really retire) and have about 100 acres of forested land. Our wildlife includes black bear, cougar, timber wolves, coyotes, foxes, eagles and other assorted smaller critters. Perfect predators for our poor chickens. Needless to say, they are safe in the well fortified coop and once the weather turns nicer, they will have a fenced in run.....electrified of course! Excited to join this group!

Last edited: Apr 12, 2017
  2. northernchick45

Apr 12, 2017
    Northern Ontario
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]