Favorite eggs in incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by SproutGirl, Aug 8, 2008.

1. SproutGirl

SproutGirl Songster

Apr 3, 2008
    Missoula, Montana
    This is my first time trying to hatch eggs in an incubator, and as I watch them and turn them 5 times a day (once at 2:30 am *yawn!) I am starting to have favorites. This seems really strange since they are just eggs so far, and I am only about a week in. I don't even know if they will hatch! Why should I have particular favorites? I think I am going a little crazy. Does anyone else have favorite eggs? Jeez!
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  2. monarc23

monarc23 Coturnix Obsessed

Jul 18, 2008
    Indiana, Pennsylvania
    Quote:I do, a very brown Coturnix Quail egg...i named it "brownie"...[​IMG]

if i know which chick hatched out of it and keep knowing im going to try to keep track of it so it will say "Brownie"......annnd i hope it's a hen and lays more brown eggs like it...pretty nifty....[​IMG] Cept i'd have trouble naming a 'bator full of of all white eggs, but eggs with different colors and patterns I can totally see (and do) naming certain ones lol!

Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  3. NYREDS

NYREDS Crowing

Jan 14, 2008
    Personally, I wouldn't give up on that "going a little crazy" thought. [​IMG]
    BTW-getting up @ 2:30 am to turn eggs is really above & beyond.

4. SproutGirl

SproutGirl Songster

Apr 3, 2008
    Missoula, Montana
    "BTW-getting up @ 2:30 am to turn eggs is really above & beyond."

Really? But I thought they had to be turned at frequent, even spaced intervals, a odd number of times a day. The best system I could come up with involved 2:30 am. Does no one else wake up to turn the eggs?

5. arlee453

arlee453 Songster

Aug 13, 2007
    near Charlotte NC
    3x per day is sufficient. I turn in the morning, mid-afternoon and before bed time - approx 8am, 4pm and 11pm