Fayetteville NC

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BertandMary, Feb 26, 2013.

1. BertandMary

BertandMary Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 24, 2013
    Fayetteville, NC
    My wife and I recently started our first flock together. We both grew up raising chickens and other farm animals. The memories of the farm life are something we felt needed to be passed on to our children. Mary and I had been discussing it for a couple of years when I surprised her on Feb 13th with some RIR's, which were and are her favorites. They were six little gals, only about a week old when I brought them home and put them in a quickly assembled brooder. As of today, they are around three weeks old and my children and I are training them.

RIR's are often considered skittish. To overcome that I am teaching my children as mom taught me all those years ago. We get a fresh glass of water and dip our fingers into it and then the food. (Wash hands before and after). We then hold our finger in the brooder and the chicks come running to eat the crumbs. It gets them used to your hands and the movement. Within a day or two a few will run to your hand every time you reach into the brooder. Within a week, one can just put their hand into the brooder and a bird will hop on for what my daughters call, "Upsies." At three weeks old, they take turns getting onto my hand and being lifted up to sit on my lap. Sometimes two or three will jump up onto my arm and hand. They let me carry them around the house without complaining in the least. When I sit in the chair near the brooder, they jump/fly up to the edge of the brooder and then onto my knee. Yes, they are pets with benifits to us. Fresh eggs and lots of entertainment.