Feather loss / broken feathers

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by AKunis, Sep 9, 2018.

1. AKunis

AKunis Hatching

Sep 9, 2018
    Good morning everyone! I am looking for some help/guidance as to what is going on with my chickens. This is my first time having chickens and in the past 4-5 months I noticed a few of them started having a rough appearance. There feathers looks to be getting broken off all down their backs. I have 3 ameraucanas and 3 barred rocks, no roosters. It was only happening to 2 of the ameraucanas st first. Then over the past month or two, all but one ameraucana was getting the broken feathers. So I thought the one bird that looked pristine was picking on the others. Their appearance progressively got worse. The neck on 2 of the ameraucanas started getting bald spots. So I got the no peck lotion and applied that and then separated the one chicken I thought was doing the pecking, in a separate coop, for a week. During that week ALL six of the chicken's feather loss rapidly declined. I have 2-3 chickens now with bald backs and bald spots under the vent. Even the chicken I had separated on her own started having broken feathers and feather loss! I started researching again and thought maybe moulting??? Maybe lice/mites??? They're all about 16 months old. I have not checked actively for the lice/mites yet. They're still laying pretty well, production has dropped off a little bit, and they're all still active and eating. I moved them to a new/bigger coop about a month ago and thought maybe the stress from the move would be a factor, but damaged feathers was happening way before the move, and it has progressively gotten worse . Please help!! At this point I think I'm going to start with treating fir lice/mites and add protein to their diet?

Attached Files:

Shadrach likes this.
  2. Shadrach

Shadrach Crowing

Jul 31, 2018
    Catalonia, Spain
    My Coop
    Hello AKunis. Welcome to BYC.