1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Feather pecking in pool, ducks

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by familyties, Oct 26, 2015.

1. familyties

familyties Out Of The Brooder

Oct 26, 2015
    California
    Hi! I'm new to raising ducks and chickens. We have 3 Welsh Harlequin ducks & 8 chicks. The ducks are about 3 months old and we are supposed to have 2 hens and one drake. Saturday we moved them to a new yard with some fresh sprouts growing and a bigger pool. The seemed to be having a blast in the pool for a while. Then I noticed the male swimming in circles and rubbing his neck on the edge of the trough. He wasn't getting out of the water but the other two were going in and out. I went to check on him and saw his back side was picked bare are bloody. I lifted him out and he didn't resist. Just felt limp and was shaking. He couldn't stand up so I put him inside under a heat lamp away from the other ducks. Once he warmed up he stopped shaking and could stand. He started eating again Sunday. His back stabbed over and is re growing feathers now. What could have caused this? The new pool? Why would the hens gang up on him? Can they live together again? Here is a picture I took of them swimming before we realized there was a problem. I have a video too which I don't see how to post. You can see the picking happening some in that. Thanks!
    [​IMG]

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome