1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Feathers everywhere!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by CharS, Jul 6, 2016.

1. CharS

CharS Just Hatched

Jun 24, 2016
    My 2 runner drakes are constantly in the water & constantly preening, the past 2 morning when I've gone to let them out, there has been feathers everywhere & I can see the skin on the chest/breast area. They are both 9/10 weeks old. Is this normal? They have a female with them & all get on great. Just find it bizarre as my female isn't losing/pulling feathers. I'm new to ducks so any advice is great! Thanks!

2. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    Either molting or feather pulling/eating sounds like the case here.

3. CharS

CharS Just Hatched

Jun 24, 2016
    I didn't realise they would molt this early. How can I prevent the feather pulling if this is what it is? They are preening there whole bodies, but just on there chest is where I can see skin.

4. buff goose guy

buff goose guy Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Mississippi Y'all
    Feather pulling occurs when ducks get bored and are in a cramped space. Feather eating occurs in the same conditions but also involves a lack of nutrition. So more room to roam just be sure that they are not too cramped if it is feather pulling.

5. HannahDuckLover

HannahDuckLover Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2015
    By the jungle
    Ducks do not molt that young. If I remember right, feather eating was a protein deficiency. What are you feeding them?

Also, two drakes and one female is a recipe for disaster. They may not be doing anything yet, but eventually you might have problems with overmating, and the males will fight each other. Can you add more females or remove one of the males?

6. Welshies